Overmanwarrior's Wisdom

Official Site of Rich Hoffman. Connecting the dots in a complicated world.

Legend of the Misty Mountains: The first snow on the Cherohala Skyway

with 15 comments

As if the No Lakota Levy campaigns were not enough, my work on Issue 2, my occupations, and my family, I have been working through a critical edit and rewrite on my new book tentatively titled The Tail of the Dragon. My publisher is exploring a title change however to capture the epic quality of the story to something like Legend of the Misty Mountains. But it’s still early. So my mind was spinning late in the night as I was thinking about all these tasks at the same time when a friend of mine from those Misty Mountains sent me the picture you see displayed here.

The Cherohala Skyway received it’s first snow of the year over the weekend and my new book involves a massive car chase upon it’s roads, so my friends from down south who are eagerly awaiting the completion of my novel wanted to send me the lovely site of that first snow upon those scenic wonders where the mind of man and the wonders of nature unite upon the Cherohala Skyway which takes drivers to the mouth of The Dragon along the western frontier of the Great Smoky Mountains.

My editor and I were having the type of banter that writers and editors have. As anyone who reads here can tell, my Overmanwarrior’s Wisdom is more like my personal notes which I share for everyone to see, mistakes and all, because for me it is to capture the ideas as they come and that is the essence of the task. It is the editor’s job to focus those ideas. When you put together a book, which involves many parts of a publishing company, the hand print of others are part of the process, so cuts, re-writes, refocusing key ideas are very important to the end result. So she and I were having this back and forth about what the novel was truly about, because we are at that phase.

I would say, “This book is about how politicians use public officials and legal manipulation to climb into power. That is the essence of how the governor in the story is using the police unions to solidify his bloc voting in a run for the White House.”

She said, “That is certainly an important part of the story, but it’s not the main theme. This is a pirate story. The main character is a pirate, and a violent one at that. This is also a love story, and a journey of self-discovery. It’s much more epic than the political subplot.”

So I mulled her comments around in my mind into the small hours of the morning as I stared at that misty mountain picture. Just a few hours before I had given an interview to The Enquirer over the debacle of Lakota’s school board and all the infighting that is going on. Before that the No Lakota Levy people had one of our meetings and mapped out our ad strategy and assignments for distributing signs. And as I looked at the stat list for this blog site, I noticed that my Stacy Schuler articles had over 4,000 views alone over the last couple of days. The combination of all those elements together sent my mind into a bit of sadness. I have written many, many deeply insightful articles here, and it’s Stacy Schuler which is the most popular. It is quite obvious that the crime of much of my time consumed centers around the lack of participation in most of society to THINK. It is the lack of THINKING from the voters that has allowed the public unions to rule over our politics. It is the LACK of THINKING that has allowed for higher taxes and manipulation of the type of ads which come from the anti-Issue 2 crowd. Those of us who think wonder how people could be so stupid not to see that Issue 2 is a fix, and is fair. But the emotion of the unions works even if they don’t have any facts to back them up. So in many ways my anger at those who don’t think had found it’s way into my novel, even if unintentionally and that anger and rebellion was unmistakable, and my editor had keyed on that emotion by rationalizing that my epic political adventure was actually a modern pirate story.

The roots to this book began ironically in one of my favorite restaurants in the world, and I have dined in some fine places. My wife and I love to eat at the Friday’s restaurant in downtown Gatlinburg. We don’t dine at the one’s here in town, but when in Gatlinburg we like to eat at Friday’s. There is something unique about that particular location, something in the air which I enjoy thoroughly. It may be the large mountains that rise up when you set foot out the front door, or the Ripley’s attractions across the street. Gatlinburg as a place is a thriving center of nearly pure capitalism and I love the area intensely. And I love to sit in the booths at Friday’s in Gatlinburg, where each one has its own flat screen television, and I scratch down notes for future writing projects. It was in this place that this current book was born, this pirate story about fast cars, rediscovered love, and the treachery of politics.

In the south they still enjoy being rebels. They do not pat themselves on the back for bowing down to authority. Down there they still resist, and I think it’s for this reason that so many people from Ohio visit the place each year. It’s not just for the scenic mountains. It’s for the reduced pressure one feels in such a place in political attention. It’s a similar feeling that you can experience in most beach communities and specifically Key West, they all have in common a tendency to look down at authority, with authority being the enforcers of a politician’s goofy ideas. I enjoy visiting places for vacation that embody such qualities and in my entertainment I enjoy the same eminence.

My anger at systems, at orthodox, at wasted money, at stupidity has its roots in this elementary concept. I think we should all be freer as a people, but to be free, it requires people to be somewhat intelligent and to think. It is evident that we are being herded about like animals in a barnyard by masters who consider themselves above us in the political class. If one of those animals declares, “I’m not an animal, I’m a human being” trouble is not far behind that declaration.

As I studied the rift that had developed on the Lakota School Board, due in large part to the information released on this site, which I thought was actually quite insignificant, a higher truth is revealed that I don’t think even the participants understand. The people on the school board want to be taken out of the “herd” and be considered as part of the political ruling class, and that’s why they are so interested in getting elected for a nothing job. The essence of all corruption is present in even a simple job involving no money for the participants, and even then, power struggles will erupt because people desire to be released from the HERD.

Rather than join the political ruling class I turn to writing, and vacations in exotic locations, and I find solace in places like the Cherohala Skyway and the Friday’s in Gatlinburg. My anger at that political ruling class comes out in my writing whether it be here as my personal thoughts and notes, or the more sophisticated and potent new novel that will be released during 2012 which ended up being a modern pirate story.

Such releases are important, especially when you involve yourself in the small-mindedness of the herds who all wish to rule. The clutter and mess they leave in their wake are frustrating and to level with them in an attempt to help them is like speaking to a rock. They do not have the capacity to understand what you are trying to tell them. And to keep from going over the deep end in anger I jot down notes on napkins, my hand, and on the bags of the cloths my wife has purchased, while we eat cheese sticks at Friday’s in Gatlinburg.

So knowing that, and with my editors consent, we will pursue this theme of the pirate against the masses of government, and I will enjoy every word written, every phrase turned and every act of rebellion contained within it, because such a story is needed for all those who have a mind to think and appreciate with sincerity the first snow on a mountain roadway in a land that refuses to bow it’s head in submission to mindless authority.

For the answer to everything click the link below!

http://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2011/09/18/the-answer-is-c-who-runs-society-the-engine-or-the-boxcar/

Rich Hoffman
http://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/ten-rules-to-live-by/
http://twitter.com/#!/overmanwarrior
www.overmanwarrior.com

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] While we were dealing with massive sign theft over in Lakota I received several reports, one from a very credible source that the journalism teacher at Lakota East, Dean Hume had been bad-mouthing me, and one of the school board candidates openly to his class. Some of the kids came home and reported this and the principal at Lakota East had to be spoken to about the incident. I know some of the kids who take Hume’s class and I angrily inquired about what was going on. I received a series of emails from a parade of students and former students explaining what a great teacher Hume was and how my opinion of Hume being a Walter Lippmann activist type was incorrect. These students went on to explain the merits of how Hume had impacted their lives in so many positive ways. Two of the kids who wrote me I like quite a bit, so I let the issue go and took their word for it. Still, something didn’t seem right about their lack of critical assessment of Hume. Hume certainly crossed the line, but I was happy to leave the issue to the principal at Lakota East to deal with. After all, if I tracked down every comment made against me, I would be perpetually tracking down people and I wouldn’t get a whole lot done. So I simply filed the event away to contemplate later while I rode roller coasters. [...]

  2. [...] Emotion is that silly lure which the fish bites down on a hook as a worm sacrificed of its life wiggles from to attract the fish. The fish bites on the hook out of the emotion of being hungry, and the fisherman to capitalize on that emotion and weakness uses that emotion against the fish in order to catch it, and consume it. I do not wish to be consumed by the fisherman of politics. And I would advise my friends and neighbors against it as well. But I do not invest much of myself into those who wish to bite down on hooks and allow themselves to be caught. It is these types that I see voted against Issue 2. It is these types who voted yes for school lev… [...]

  3. [...] But this is not specific to Penn State, although it’s one of the worst we’ve come along in quite some time. This is a case of institutional failure precipitated by a focus on sacrificing the individual identi… [...]

  4. [...] Fair? I heard that term over and over during the campaign. Is it fair that one dollar of my money goes to support an organization that I consider detrimental to America? I don’t want my money sent to my local school to pay a teacher to then be converted by union dues and used by the teachers union to fund candidates who are progressive and out to rob my country of its freedom loving nature. Look at the child with a helmet on his bicycle riding 5 MPH as his frightened mother looks on afraid that her little one will splat his brains all over the sidewalk. This is the result of your unions and their attempts to justify their existence by overreaching their authority in the class-room and among the police authority. Look at the fat-fingered politician who creates legislation due to the union lobby in trade for campaign contributions that find themselves in the G-strings of a local stripper, the politician and his comb-over slicked over with French fry oil is using campaign money so his wife doesn’t find out about it. Look at the cops on a Saturday night setting up DUI checkpoints to “rid” society of drunk drivers. What they are really doing is showing that they are overstaffed and need something for those officers to do. The MAD mothers who created much of that “drinking” legislation played right into the hands of the union lobby, and gave them an excuse to mandate insurance, which gave cops something to do, mandate drunk driving laws, which gave cops something to do, and revenue to generate, and gave police the right to pull people over even if they were only on their way to the video store, to take away freedoms of the citizens using safety as the guise. Is it fair that your existence is eroding away my freedoms? [...]

  5. [...] yes……………don’t you remember dear reader? Don’t tell me that you have forgotten. Well, in case you have, I put all the documentaries about B…. Perhaps you need a refresher course in the president who shattered the standards to the lowest [...]

  6. [...] The typical response, especially in Hollywood is to carefully guard their crafts, just as most union….  The joke on the set during the making of The Delivery was that Hoffman is the only one guaranteed to get work off that feature.  At that time, before the first Twilight film was released, it was speculated that even Peter may be overlooked when actual casting took place, because in Hollywood, that’s the way it goes.  But the thought was that I was the only guy on the set who could do the whip stunts, and in the country there are only a handful of people to choose from, so I was certain to make a pretty penny off that film when it came out of development and went into production.  [...]

  7. [...] This is why Walt Disney recreated a New Orleans town to place his new ride Pirates of the Caribbean into at the very first Disneyland. Being a natural patriot, who had dropped out of high school, and never had any formal education of any kind, Disney had taught himself, and this is what made him a unique thinker. Disney obviously loved The Buccaneer movie, but during that same period of time the great classic novel called Atlas Shrugged came out, in 1957. In that classic book one of the key characters is the pirate Ragnar Danneskjöld who serves as one of the three main protagonist’s who raids and loots the “looters” of society. In the case of Atlas Shrugged the “looters” were politicians like Obama in the very first clip. Ragnar stole back from the politicians the loot they plundered from those who had originally earned the money. There is no question that Ragnar’s character in Atlas Shrugged, Yul Brynner’s adaption of Lafitte in The Buccaneer, and the many stories of Henry Morgan and how the Founding Father’s adored Morgan and his band of Pirates led to the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. So as I was reading at the time of traveling down that boat ride for the sixth and seventh times tha… [...]

  8. [...] I would consider any one of those issues to warrant fury among the public, yet every single one of them has happened at Lakota during the last year, and the public has been too guilty of being “civil.” In their civility, they have been used, and taken advantage of. [...]

  9. [...] I took it personal, because I have let my kids drink if they wanted to since they were 12. I frowned down on it, but I let them drink at family functions and never gave them any restrictions …I did this for all the same reasons that drinking isn’t such a big deal to my son-in-law who has [...]

  10. [...] This is why to this very day in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, you can see in the streets of that mountain t… [...]

  11. [...] it hangs from my ceiling. That saw-toothed mouth grins at me and cries out to “GO GET EM.’” That car still looks as good today as it did when it tore down the hill behind Fort Hamilton Hospita… And as the crowd cheered at the spectacle my mind was not on them, but on the heroes of the Flying [...]

  12. [...] qualifier there isn’t any reason that I see why a school system would need to hire a PR director. Even at a large school like Lakota which has 22 buildings and approximately 2000 employees and 18,0… The work of a PR person might be required to type up press releases, and assuming Lakota had news [...]

  13. [...] PR work I’ve done on many occasions I never fathomed would pay such large quantities of money. It seems utterly insane to consider such a thing that PR work has any value, let alone the kind of s… Nothing about it makes any sense. It was just a few weeks after that August meeting where Laura was [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 880 other followers

