Overmanwarrior's Wisdom

Official Site of Rich Hoffman. Connecting the dots in a complicated world.

Archive for March 7th, 2012

Protected: The Cash Cow of Lakota: Pinching off the supply with “Yes to Lakota Kids”

with 11 comments

This content is password protected. To view it please enter your password below:

Rich Hoffman is Evil, Mean, and Wants to Hurt Kids: Letters from my critics

with 41 comments

For some bizarre reason the announcement that the new group created by the No Lakota Levy has created a firestorm of controversy……………..who would have thought such a thing. (SHRUG) And I was the target of much criticism. As of this writing I have only been able to read a fraction of the emails sent to me or to follow the links discussing me online. So for fun and perspective I am putting a few of them up here to share with my readers.

Anyone who reads here every day knows how foolish the following comments are except for the comment by Joe Montana. If you hit the link below you can see the whole thread of these comments, and the author called Joe Montana was actually thought to be me. But I had never heard of this online forum until one of my readers tipped me off to it today. So as a scientific experiment it is interesting to study just how these people think. Obviously prior to this posting are over 600 articles that I have written each of them over 1000 words a piece, so there is a lot of documented evidence that shames these poor people to shame. I respond at the end of this posting to one of the emails I directly received that I only read because I recognized the name coming from The Pulse Journal last week that I responded to this week. In fact, I’ll post my letter that is in the Pulse this week after my response to Laura Sanders who I use as a climax to this mess. Enjoy.

Joe Montana below starts a discussion in reaction to the announcement that Yes to Lakota Kids is providing money to needy students struggling to pay the $550 fees to play sports at Lakota. CLICK HERE TO REVIEW THIS ISSUE. (Caution, the text below is presented as written, grammatical errors and all.)  Also, remember that all the anger and talk of boycotting below was started with my announcment of helping children.  That’s how messed up these people are. 

http://yappi.com/forums/showthread.php?p=4978906

JoeMontana

Lakota will balk at this, for sure.

It would be great for the kids, and great for the district…

BUT, unfortunately, the only thing Lakota admin/board cares about is funneling as much money as possible to their union cronies.

Thus, since NoLakota is actually trying to help the district–rather than funnel money to the teacher’s unions–the higher-ups in the district will shun and badmouth them…

Don’t believe me??? Just watch this unfold, and tell me if there’s ANY other possible explanation than simply that these crooked thugs are trying to funnel money to their union cronies…

Stizostedion

I get so sick of idiots complaining about what teachers make or how much time off they get. Think of the job we are trusting them to do. We want them to mold the minds of that which is most precious to us, our kids. Yet, we don’t want to pay for it, at least not what it’s worth. Everytime a community votes against education it’s an assault on children. That guy running the No Levy campaign in Lakota is punching every kid there right in the stomach. And he’s laughing about it. People there need to take action against that guy and all the jack knobs falling in line behind him. Picket those businesses, picket his business, picket his house. Make sure people know he’s hurting their kids and their community. It’s one thing to make this about politics and money, but make it about the kids he’s hurting and he’ll wither. Because that’s what bullies do when faced with united opposition.

fish82

That’s the thing…there have been changes in compensation. No Lakota asked for a pay freeze. They got that. Instead of offering support, Rich Hoffman moved the goalposts and asked for benefit cuts. He got that. He moved the goalposts again, and asked for salary reductions.

Don’t get me wrong…I’m no cheerleader for Teacher’s Unions. That said, Rich Hoffman is a lying, passive-aggressive dooshbag.

Easthawks14
What’s most disturbing about this is Rich Hoffman is using this as an opportunity to become a hero and gain more favortism within the community to support his cause but what about all the other students that have been hurt – those in the arts, band, other activities, etc.

What’s also disturbing is No Lakota is largely backed by business owners who don’t want to pay more taxes. Common sense would say you want your business to be established in a healthy community that is prosperous and growing. Will a community with a minimalized school system foster growth? Will their business benefit from this? I hope their revenues fall as fast as my home value. There needs to be an all out boycott of businesses that support NoLakota.

Dear Rich Hoffman

You are making teachers out to be lazy, not worthy of the salaries they earn. I have close friends who teach in Lakota, and believe me, they do more in a day than you will do in a week. BACK OFF!!!!!!

http://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2011/04/06/pay-rate-for-the-top-625-teachers-at-lakota-schools-yes-the-number-grew-much-larger/#comments

 

If you are going to post salaries online, then make sure you get your facts straight. The top 625 are NOT ALL TEACHERS. They are administrators as well. The average teacher salary is $58,000. The average salary in Liberty Township is $107,000. Do you have a problem with that ratio? Don’t you think our community can afford to pass a levy?

I know now much your home is worth, and it’s about half as much as most homes in Liberty Township. People built their big houses here, knowing fully well how much their taxes would be. We are a highly-residential community with no big businesses to offset our property taxes. I pay $5400/year in taxes. How much do you pay? $2800? If you don’t want to live in an affluent community with good schools, then move!

You are ruining Lakota.

Laura Sanders

Pretty interesting isn’t it. Amazing how these people think. To my frequent readers here, you might think that these comments were written by children, but no, these are adults—I know it—it is scary to think. But these are functioning adults who are really lost and have a long way to go. So I am including here what I sent back to Laura since she decided to send me her real name and email address.

Dear Laura and the rest of you misfits, buffoons, lowlifes, and ignorant apologists:

You and your kind are the problem. You only see your little piece of the pie. And I’m concerned with all the jobs, not just teachers. And being able to pay is not the same being stupid and just paying. And I was here long before you were, and I’ll be here long after. You are a fair weathered resident that needs a vast education before we can even have a conversation.

I don’t care who your friends are. Don’t you even think to tell me to back off. You’re likely to piss me off more than I already am. You left me two messages; both of them aren’t worth the time of my dog. I do so much work in a week that I could do your job and any 10 of your teachers at the same time. Don’t be so stupid to assume you have any idea to declare your friends are equitable to my work week.

Keep drinking the Kool-Aid sweetie. And learning the value of someone’s home is pretty easy. That’s no technical marvel, but it’s cute that you think it is.

And to answer your question, yes, I think $58K in average salary is way too high for what we get out of those employees. For the same reason that Payton Manning was cut from the Colts, teachers with a high salary at the top of the scale that are under performing should be removed to make room in the budget. That’s good business. The education output will not change. Believe me.

And you are comparing household salary to individual salary. You just made my point for me. If the average salary at Lakota was in the mid 50 range, we’d have a balanced budget. In fact, we’d have excess money.

A correction from last week’s Letters to the Editor–the average Lakota employee is not making $58,000 per year, but rather $63,000 per year.

And no, we are not obliged to pay a tax increase because the community can afford it. The superintendent and school board have shown so little skill in dealing with a multi-million dollar budget that I wouldn’t give them .75 cents to buy a can of soda from a vending machine. The final straw for me was the second budget meeting held at Lakota East. Their idea of meeting the budget is to cut away the outside crust of their funding pie instead of dealing with the middle. Every cut made, including the administrative cuts from Monday were token cuts that deal with jobs that should have already been reduced. The cuts do nothing to handle the problems of fiscal year 2013, and 2014. There is no long-term plan but to ask for more money—forever!

If Superintendent Mantia tried to sell the smoke and mirrors game she and the school board pulled with these large forum budget cutting meetings in the private sector she would have been fired after the first meeting. They were an insult to the intelligence of the community.

The only hope I have for Lakota’s employees is that in 2013 Ohio will have the Workplace Freedom Amendment which will allow teachers stuck under the Lakota Education Association contract to leave that union enabling the community to deal with them individually instead of the current collective bargaining agreement that is bankrupting our current $160 million plus budget. Be sure to sign the petition when you see it to help us make that happen. In the meantime, No Lakota Levy has started Yes to Lakota Kids to help families pay for the sports fees that the district has consumed on excessive union contracts. We are taking donations and this will help kids in the short-run while the adults of the community get the budget straightened out by driving teaching costs down. You can get more info including applications and helpful links at www.Yes-to-Lakota-Kids.org

 And to those who are thinking of retaliation against me in ANY way.  A fair warning……………….

http://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2011/11/12/dead-men-tell-no-tails-a-fair-warning-im-obligated-to-give/

Bad idea…………….I’ve been doing this stuff for a long time.

Rich Hoffman
http://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/ten-rules-to-live-by/
http://twitter.com/#!/overmanwarrior
www.overmanwarrior.com
 

Check out Rich Hoffman’s favorite website, (besides this one):

http://thepeoplescube.com/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers