Overmanwarrior's Wisdom

Official Site of Rich Hoffman. Connecting the dots in a complicated world.

Who is Rich Hoffman: Journey toward the Road of Death

with 14 comments

Who is Rich Hoffman? That’s been the question I’ve been asked a lot lately from angry email senders that have looked over these pages and wondered of what authority I speak from. Well, I’ve so far lived a very full life, too much to sum up in a few paragraphs. But due to that full life, I learned a lot, and my world view reflects that.

The video below is something I put together for a project I’m working on. The trip I describe in that video is the kind of thing I consider to be successful. Success to me cannot be obtained in business, even though I’ve had plenty of success. Success is not in knowing celebrities, politicians or other powerful people. Success is in doing what is uniquely you.

I am working on a motorcycle journey from Alaska to the bottom of South America. It will cost a lot of money, so I have to find a way to assemble some investors and a documentary crew so there can be a return on the investment. But I’m planning the trip as a grand adventure of endurance. I assembled this video to show what a trip like that might look like, so I put a year of my life into a roughly 15 minute video.

The gun in that video is what I consider the greatest handgun in the world, the Smith and Weston .500 Magnum. And the tunnel my family was rappelling from is haunted and very spooky. Some of the pictures from that clip are in my description blog site. But as you can see, I spend a lot of time on motorcycles and hiking. I enjoy working with my friends in western arts, reading books, shooting with my wife and kids. I work with bullwhips because it’s good exercise and it helps me spiritually. So when Glenn Beck made his E4 Project announcement in Wilmington, I understood what he was talking about, and thought it was a good idea.

You see, that’s why I get so frustrated with this whole Progressive Movement, because those people are stuck psychologically and emotionally. When you get a taste of freedom, and enlightenment, it’s natural to want to share that with other people, but all too often you find out that people aren’t able to understand what you’re trying to tell them.

But you can’t help people who don’t know what they’re missing as they cleave to some ancient tradition which lacks some sense of spirituality and self-discovery. And that is the personal tragedy of progressivism and the primary failure of modern society. When you rob a person of their initiative, you rob them of a fulfilling life, and the entitlement culture created from progressivism has eroded initiative from millions of Americans, many of them seek refuge on the left of the political spectrum blind to the rest of the world.

I can state clearly that when I wake up in the morning and look at myself in the mirror, I love the person that looks back. And that is what success is. That success doesn’t come from the money given by a job, or a check issued by government. Success comes from saying yes to life and having the courage look in the mirror and liking what looks back.

Rich Hoffman

https://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/ten-rules-to-live-by/
http://twitter.com/#!/overmanwarrior
www.overmanwarrior.com

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] as long as the bad stuff is kept from your eyes and you can have deniability to impropriety, you can still look at yourself in the mirror each day and feel ok about things. They know human nature doesn’t like to fight, and they have built an empire on the backs of our [...]

  2. [...] I know what I am. And I know many Tea Party people that are pure white blood cells. The goal of this site is to identify cancer cells and attack them so that we can return to a healthy body, because there is so much cancer in this body we are trusted to protect, that we need to relearn what the diseases are, and what the healthy cells look like, so that the epic battle to overcome our sickness can be resolved and our America can return to health. [...]

  3. [...] You would think that many parents would have wanted their kids to spend their time with me. After all, I didn’t drink, I didn’t smoke, I didn’t use curse words, I helped people when I could, I was polite and well spoken. But I was also defiant, inquisitive, and perpetually skeptical. In fact there were two rules that people riding in my car when I was 16. First, there was no smoking allowed. Second, we would not play Pink Floyd on my car stereo, because I understood the stuff all too well and thought it was depressing to meditate on such things, where many of the youth back then did. One of my best friends back then was told by his mother and father to stay away from Rich Hoffman. He’s not the kind of kid I want you to be friends with. [...]

  4. [...] How does all this apply to John Kasich’s speech, which occurred just hours before the Tressel pres… [...]

  5. [...] And that’s what you find in a motorcyclist, a love a freedom and a desire to extend their reach wi…I started thinking about defining motorcyclists when I kept getting the same questions, why do you ride in the rain? And why do you ride when it’s cold? [...]

  6. [...] I thought about whether or not doing such a thing was proper, conceited, egotistical, maniacal, and … [...]

  7. [...] I’ve changed professions 5 times in my adult life, because I’ve always adapted to change. I have…. I have never thought of retiring with a pension from a job. I will work as long as I feel like doing something for income. I have no intention to wither away into a gradual degradation of my body and spend the rest of my days fishing. In fact, I think any human being that views their life as an hourglass is a fool that sets unneeded psychological limits upon themselves. We live in an exciting age that should embrace the entrepreneurial spirit of free enterprise, the way America did leading up to the Civil War, and ironically the introduction of Marxism from Europe around the middle of the 19th century. Government needs to get out of the way of the safety business, the regulation business, the job creation business, in fact, it needs to get out of the way completely. Let everything that will fail, fail, and let innovation solve our problems. [...]

  8. [...] I was on the Big One with Darryl to offer my opinion: [...]

  9. [...] I’ve thought about the 9/11 hijackings a lot over the years, which is what started all this mess. …I can only offer that people were so shocked by the act that they were frozen with surprise. If America should have learned anything from 9/11 it’s how to deal with that kind of situation in the future, and that instead of complying with a terrorists demands, two or three of the passengers would overwhelm the attackers before trouble got out of control in the future. Not what has happened, which is to avoid every possible danger in every possible circumstance, and to stop being Americans. [...]

  10. [...] I’ve employed people who worked for AK Steel in Middletown, several of them that wanted jobs while… [...]

  11. [...] I have always had a fascination with civilizations that have eroded away into nothing. When I was a … [...]

  12. [...] At the end of the meeting everyone shook hands.  “Good luck,” the Sheriff said to me as he step… [...]

  13. Food for thought: for fun some time back when, i had decided to start playing with live streaming concepts… Video game servers were all running in the background at full capacity… So i threw up a radio server for players to log into and listen to music on… Today when i think of this fun activity i accomplished for such a brief period of time… I think of how usless it was. In your case, however, having done such a thing might have purpose… Toss the idea around… I can tweak the server to push audio from a microphone instead of streaming music. Overmanwarrior.hearmeroar.com =P

    Daniel

    August 3, 2011 at 5:11 am

    • That’s not a bad idea. There is a lot of information that could go on that. Good idea!

      overmanwarrior

      August 3, 2011 at 2:33 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 880 other followers

