Overmanwarrior's Wisdom

Official Site of Rich Hoffman. Connecting the dots in a complicated world.

Archive for April 20th, 2012

The Rest of the Story: Who thought I was going away?

leave a comment »

As progressive minded collectivists and pro tax advocates celebrated what they thought was my fiery end in the school levy fights around town on that carefully planned March 15th assault, there are aspects to that story that I have not revealed–until now. While the strategy I discussed in calling the levy supporters of Lakota “latté sipping prostitutes” is true, and the results were predictable, but at the same time terribly disappointing, there is as the late, great Paul Harvey used to say—the rest of the story.

In September of 2011 at a No Lakota Levy group meeting I told our members that after this next campaign they should search among themselves for another spokesman who could change up the message if Lakota decided to go for fourth levy attempt in 2012. I suggested this for two reasons—first Doc Thompson and I had covered about every aspect of public school funding issues on 700 WLW, and had gathered nearly 20 hours of audio recordings featured here at my Overmanwarrior’s Wisdom site and the message was feeling tired. My hope was that a new face might be able to recharge the campaign efforts to match the musical chairs the Lakota school system utilizes in their campaign efforts. It makes me very proud to see that over the fall of 2011 into the winter of 2012 that No Lakota Levy has three such fresh minded spokesman to pick from on the next campaign. Second—I told our group at No Lakota Levy that I had a new book coming out in the summer of 2012, and that it would require most of my attention. While I would be doing national media events and press obligations, I did not want to be distracted with local political issues, and that I needed a break. Like I told them, writing is how I make a living, and my last book was in 2004, so it was time for me to pay some more bills with my next book that had been three years in the making, which of course they all understood.

A few weeks later I was speaking at a Lakota event with school board members Linda O’Conner and Ray Murray and I told them about my plans in 2012 involving my book. I told them that if this fall levy goes down that they better not think of putting on another one because I would be busy in 2012. When indications from Lakota were the same old games leaning toward a new school levy attempt, I decided to end my spokesman position with No Lakota Levy with a bang, instead of a whimper, because a whimper might send the wrong message to the community if I just backed out and let someone else from No Lakota Levy take over while I went to work promoting my new book. So having a much more colorful ending as spokesman fulfilled many of the strategy needs I had and more importantly allowed me to put my energy into the release of my new novel, Tail of the Dragon. (CLICK HERE)

My political enemies assumed that No Lakota Levy was paying me to be some sort of lobbyist and that if we were separated, then my work at this site would go away, and I would be removed from the political scene. However, what my political enemies didn’t know was that I always operated Overmanwarrior’s Wisdom as a news feed for not just No Lakota Levy, but levy fighting groups all over America. In fact I have daily readers in Europe and Australia, so my levy work has always been separate from my spokesman role for No Lakota Levy. Also, once 700 WLW decided to take more of a middle of the road approach to their broadcasts, there wasn’t as much need for my work in that fashion. And like Doc Thompson and I joked about just the other day—how much more could we say? People by now realize that the public school funding situation is a complete joke that is dominated by labor unions who are clearly not out for the “children.” So it was time to change things around a bit, and it was my chance to make some fireworks.

But that does not mean that I won’t fight the next levy attempts. I will still do as I have below, write and contribute articles exposing what is wrong with the situations surrounding public education, and I’ll do it in the same fashion as I have before. What I needed freedom from regarding No Lakota Levy was the straight jacket of being spokesman for a larger group. I found I could not maintain that confining position while at the same time putting on my sales hat to promote my novel. The two roles are just too opposed to one another that I didn’t feel I could commit myself in the same fashion as I had on the previous three levy attempts.

But rest assured, there will still be daily articles here at Overmanwarrior’s Wisdom, and I will give media interviews when needed. No Lakota Levy should be able to perform those tasks without me, but if I need to I will happily contribute to the next public debate over school levies as I have in the past. In fact the letter below is just an example of such contributions that appeared in the April 19th Pulse Journal. So levy fighters don’t worry, there is more resistance now than there was before and I will not stop doing what I’ve done all along. But while I am working on a national campaign for my new novel, it is disingenuous and overly confining to represent a group of people who simply want to keep themselves from being raked over the coals with tax increases. And also, I need the ability to call my political enemies latté sipping prostitutes. That’s important to me………………..I get tired of all that touchy, feely hand-shaking crap.

Now, enjoy my latest Letter to the Editor as it appeared in the Pulse Journal.

Another graduating class at Lakota will be leaving as the school year comes to a close. Doing a bit of math, it appears that Lakota will have nearly 1000 students leaving our facilities this year and in the years to come. That means Lakota will have declining enrollment for possibly the next two decades since the real estate growth has peaked in our community. That should take the pressure off the budget deficit considerably. That is good news.

But there are still calls by some to push another school levy even with this knowledge of declining enrollment. And to pave the way for a new levy there have been calls for me to apologize to the various PTA groups over things I said about them as evidence of this new levy push emerged. But what hasn’t been discussed was the reason for the anger.

If Lakota had proposed a tax and respected the votes of the people the first couple of attempts, the tension now wouldn’t be so high. But when there are members of the PTA groups and other pro levy factions who actively sought to boycott businesses and bring coercion to individuals they know voted against the school levies to “persuade” them to vote differently on the next attempt, then we’re not talking about simple politics anymore, we’re talking about something much more serious. If an election can’t be won without vandalism, coercion and media domination, then someone should probably check to see if they’re on the right side of things. Yet the only avenue explored besides drastic, punishing cuts, has been tax increases disrespecting the will of the voters over three elections so far.

Lakota should be able to balance its budget with fewer enrollments unless they do something reckless like give all their employees raises just for breathing air, which they might actually try, but not until 2014. If they do attempt another levy, I can promise a much more “colorful” campaign against them than they’ve seen up to this point, because this is getting ridiculous. The path of Little Miami is not the correct one.

This is what people are saying about my new book–Tail of the Dragon

Just finished the book and am sweating profusely. Wow, what a ride !!!  Fasten your seat belts for one of the most thrilling rides ever in print.

Check out more by CLICKING HERE!

Rich Hoffman
https://overmanwarrior.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/ten-rules-to-live-by/
http://twitter.com/#!/overmanwarrior
www.overmanwarrior.com
 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 881 other followers